Athletes recognized at Meet the Texans event

by: MATT MOLINAR/Feature Editor 

To kick off this the 2015-2016 season for the Texans and Lady Texans, fans gathered in Texan Dome at South Plains College to attend the 33rd annual “Meet the Texans” event.

On Nov. 2, the two-hour event began after a cook off was held in the parking lot located south of Communications Building. After the cook-off ended, participants were invited into the Dome for a barbeque meal prepared by teams from the Levelland community representing different companies and organizations.

The event began as Joe Tubb, athletic director at SPC, introduced each coach and their team.

First to be announced was head trainer, Will Kelly, who is in his second year at SPC, along with student trainers Bailey Reese, Emily Crabtree, TK Shead, Linda Edwards, Ryan Lacy, Garrett Reynolds, Thomi Patton, Samantha Pena, Sky Rojas, Emi Takahashi and Michael Johnson.

Next to be introduced was Linda McCulloch, in her 16th year of directing the SPC cheerleaders, “who have never lost a half time.” This year’s Texan Cheerleaders squad includes: Kaiti Haltom, Chavonne Sanchez, Bonnie Smith, and Texan Mascot Andrew Skipton, Jaycee Caldwell, Laura Choate, Sierra Garza, Ka’Leigh Jones, Alanna Kruegar, Leslie Leal, Madeline McGuffin, Vanity Morris, Kristina Thorn, and Alisha Zamora.

Following the SPC Cheerleaders, the Rodeo Team was introduced. In his sixth year as head rodeo coach, Kerry Doster introduced his rodeo team. The women’s rodeo team includes: freshmen Megan Burbidge, Ihhysaa Glass, Baylee Henderson, Rainy Robinson, Lindsey Sharp, Sierra White, and Callie Wharton. Sophomores are Kera Burns, Jessica Grey, Kortney McReynolds, Shay Spitz, Teryn Tate, and Cara Vierstra.  The men’s team includes: freshmen Colton Brown, Kade Cotton, Grady Egly, Denton Halford, Rylie Hayes, Luis Igleias, Cameron McCorley, Payson Moore, Sidney Stewart, and Edgar Tarango. Sophomores are Michael Benavides, JD Domenigo, Shane Hancock, Dillon Kirkland, and Coy Surrett.

Next to be introduced was the SPC track team, coached by Chris Beene, who is in his 12th year at SPC, with 30 national titles. The men’s team includes: freshmen Atem Akok, Saahir Bethea, Daniel Chan, Jokerious Code, Robert Downs, Robert Dunning, Edoki Fabian, Virjilio Griggs, Connor Hughes, Deric Martinez, Logan McBride, Kwaume McGee, Derrick Monroe, Gabe Moore, Laquan Nairn, Henry Ngetich, Clayton Pipes, Cordell Richardson, Damian Rodriguez, Omero Rodriguez, Nicholas Rotich, Justin Scott,  Fletcher Sherrard, Jose Silva, Okeen Williams and James Willingham. Sophomores are Hassan Abdi, Kelvin Keter, DeVante Lacy, Jereem Richards, and Dedrian Windham.

The Lady Texans basketball team at Meet the Texans in the Dome on Nov. 2. BRANDI ORTIZ/PLAINSMAN PRESS

Members of the women’s track team include: freshmen Saqukine Cameron, Felicia Frimpon, Joi Gill, Taylor Hill, Brianna Jones, Megan Kinsey, Melody Korie, Shanice Lewis, Amberlyn Lewis-Waller, Mya Perez, Mauricia Prieto, Kadrienne Sanders, Latriceia Smith, Candace Thomas, and Sasha-Gay Whyte. Sophomores are D’Andrea Carden, Tahsa Crosse, Anyi Garci-Solis, Ciearah Hairston, Deja Harrison, Morgan Hartsell, Alexis Hyshaw, Kassidi Jones, Selena Orlenas, Medinah Spencer, Aaliyah Telesfored, and Domonique Williams.

Next to be introduced was the Lady Texans basketball team, coached by Cayla Petree, who is in her first year at SPC.

Following the Lady Texans was the Texans basketball team and Coach Steve Green, who is in his 15th season at SPC. Green’s accomplishments include more than 400 wins, six WJCAC titles, five NJCAA Region V titles, six appearences in the NJCAA National tournaments, and two national Championships.

After the two teams were announced, the unraveling of two new NJCAA banners for 2014 and 2015 took place.

After the unraveling, the winners of the cook-off were announced. Placing third was McCutchin Construction, while second to place went to Ag Texas FLCA. The winner of the cook-off was AIM Bank.

Other teams participating in the cook-off were City Bank, Globe, G&C Contracting, Smith South Plains, Rose Equipment, Allied Oilfield, and Chem-Tech.

Leave a Reply

Powered by

%d bloggers like this: